Please enable javascript, or click here to visit my ecommerce web site powered by Shopify.
Latest News
Latest Tweets
« Winners 2012 | Main

2012 Honour Award Finalists

Business Award (presented by Sydney Gay and Lesbian Business Association)

  • Aussie Boys – Sydney-based fashion retailer with over 30 years of service to the GLBT community and long-time supporter of GLBT charities
  • Metro Entertainment – Newcastle-based production company helping to revitalize the city’s GLBTIQ community through innovative events and partnerships
  • Stonewall Hotel – leading Oxford St entertainment venue with 15 years of service to the GLBT community and significant supporter of GLBT charities and community organisations
  • DNA Magazine – internationally distributed magazine produced in Sydney that has provided a unique voice for and perspective of gay culture for over 12 years


Media/Arts/Entertainment Award (presented by SX)

  • Den Magazine – recently established Newcastle-based magazine and website dedicated to developing the local GLBTIQ community
  • Tommy Murphy – internationally recognised playwright whose work has helped offer readers and audiences a valuable insight into gay lives and culture
  • marie claire, Sunrise and I Do Campaign Amabassadors – for producing and promoting a high profile campaign supporting marriage equality    
  • Bad Dog – for over 12 years, this creative co-op has produced unique entertainment experiences for GLBT community members seeking get togethers outside the mainstream GLBT club scene      


Health and Wellbeing Award (presented by GLYDE Health)

  • John O’Dea – has provided over 20 years of volunteer service to the GLBT community as a key member of both the Mature Age Gays support group and the ACON condom packing team
  • Stuart Garskie – IDAHO NSW founder and inspirational volunteer health promoter and GLBT community leader in Western Sydney
  • The Pinnacle Foundation – volunteer-based organisation that provides scholarships to marginalised and/or disadvantaged GLBTIQ young people
  • Rail Corp’s Equity and Diversity Unit – GLBT workplace support group for NSW Rail Corp employees and significant supporter of GLBT charities and community organisations


Community Organisation Award (presented by Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras)

  • Camp Out – volunteer-based group that runs personal development camps for GLBTIQ teens
  • The Ankali Project – volunteer-based service in Sydney that has provided emotional and social support for over 27 years for people affected by HIV/AIDS  
  • Trikone – support and social group for GLBT people from a South Asian cultural background
  • Gen Q/Regional Youth Support Services – Gen Q is a peer-run support group for young GLBTIQ people that has been operating in the Central Coast region for 15 years with the support of RYSS.


Community Hero Award (presented by ACON)

  • Pip Ditzell – has spent over seven years building bridges between the GLBT community and mainstream services as the City of Sydney’s GLBT Project Coordinator   
  • Chief Supt Donna Adney – has shown outstanding leadership over the last five years through her successful efforts to improve the relationship between the NSW Police Force and the GLBT community
  • Alex Greenwich – as the national convenor of Australian Marriage Equality, Alex has been instrumental in taking the issue of marriage equality debate from impossible to inevitable
  • Susan Brooks – has provided many years of service to the GLBT community as a member/supporter of several key GLBT community organisations and most recently as a founding and key member of The Pinnacle Foundation which provides scholarships and mentorships to marginalised and/or disadvantaged GLBTIQ young people


Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>